A Setback, but still Optimistic

30 03 2010

I was on a roll! A few straight days of biking, with a couple of rides earlier last week including a 30 miler and a beautiful 20 mile ride and now I have to wait more than a week before I can get back on the roads. Near the end of my 30 mile ride on Saturday I stopped at Walmart to pick up a few things and came back out to find my back tire was flat. I very carefully rode about a mile back into Geneseo before I decided it was too risky…I can’t afford to bend one of my rims…and walked the remaining half mile home.

So that was fine, a flat tire is no big deal, I have spare tubes so I replaced the one with a hole and all was good. Yesterday I came home from campus and wanted to go out for about 20 miles, got about a half mile and had another flat. I had noticed on Saturday that my tires are in pretty rough shape (including a small tear in the sidewall) after more than 1500 miles including more than 200 with 40-50 pounds of gear. So I ordered a new set of tires on Sunday, but they won’t be here until next Monday (hopefully). So for now I’m off the roads, but hopefully the weather will be warmer and sunnier by next week (I’m missing out on some great weather this week though, 72 degrees on Friday!).

Also, great news on the donations front: We are nearing the minimum donation amount needed to fulfill my commitment to The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society ($4900), but are still a ways away from our total goal for the trip ($10,000). All the donations I’ve received haven’t yet been posted to the website, but the amount is around $4,100!! I’m so proud of everyone that has contributed and I can’t thank you enough! If you haven’t yet contributed, please consider doing so; it would help out the fight against blood cancers and would mean the world to us. Sorry for the length of this post, but I had a lot of news to share! Until next time,

Stay Happy,

-Alex

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

