New Companion

4 05 2010

It’s getting closer and closer to us finally departing on our great adventure. There are a couple of updates we would like to make you aware of at this time. We are getting more donations everyday and couldn’t be happier! We are still far from our goal of $10,000 but we do have a little over $5,000 at this time. Besides the donations we have also been getting numerous letters and e-mails of encouragement that help us to become even more motivated about what we are trying to accomplish. So THANK YOU to everyone for their encouragement and donations.

I don’t know about everyone else but I am so excited about the absolute beautiful weather we have finally been having. However, last weeks weather while biking was horrible. It was snowing the first part of the week here in Cortland and then we had 20-25 mph winds. On one of my rides I felt like I was going absolutely no where and that if I got off my bike I could probably run faster. I was pretty happy that my odometer wasn’t working because I think seeing that I was going 8-10 mphs would have been quite discouraging. But other then that, biking has been going well for all of us!

And the other topic I would like to talk about is the fact that we are adding a new companion to the trip. Brittany and I thought that a DOG would be a great addition to the trip across country. Yes a dog. He is a mutt that we got at the Saratoga County Animal Shelter two weeks ago. The vet said his best guess is that he is a German Shepherd mixed with some kind of Hound. He is between 1 and 2 years old. After five days of him not having a name (Dave Jones thought his name should be he who can not named), Brittany and I finally decided on Bandit. Below you can see a picture of Bandit. He is the sweetest dog and we are so lucky to have him.

That’s really all that is new for now. So keep sending in those donations to continue to help us reach our goal. Also, keep sending us letters and e-mails. We love hearing stories from everyone! Enjoy the beautiful weather. Go do something outside that you normaly wouldn’t. Just keep living.

Enjoy life,
Colin

Brittany and Bandit

Colin and Bandit at Buttermilk Falls (Ithaca)

Actions

Information

One response

12 05 2010
mhelm@nycap.rr.com

Not sure if my first try to let you know how great it is that you are doing what you are doing went through. So I am sorry if you are getting something twice.
I think what you are doing is really cool. Can you tell me a little more about how long this is going to potentially take you? Also how do i do a donation for you?

Sincerely,
Melissa Helm

Leave a Reply

